4 Strategies To Help Your Lawyer Enable You To If you want a legal professional at all, you have to work closely along with them to be able to win your case. Regardless how competent they can be, they're likely to need your help. Listed here are four important approaches to help your legal team allow you to win: 1. Be Totally Honest And Up Your lawyers need and expect your complete cooperation - irrespective of what information you're likely to reveal in their mind. Privilege means everything you say is stored in confidence, so don't hold anything back. Your legal team has to know everything in advance - particularly information other side could check out and surprise you with later. 2. Provide Meticulous Records Keep a continuing and factual account of most information regarding your case. Whether it's witnesses or payments being made, provide your attorneys with all the current data they have to help them to win. 3. Show Up Early For All Those Engagements Never be late when you're appearing before a court and avoid wasting the attorney's time, too, because they are by the due date, whenever. In reality, because you might need to discuss last minute details or perhaps be extra ready for the truth you're facing, it's a great idea to arrive early. 4. Demonstrate That You May Have Your Act Together If you've been involved in any sort of crime, it's important so that you can prove to the legal court that you simply both regret the actions and so are making strides toward enhancing your life. As an example, if you're facing driving under the influence, volunteer for a rehab program. Be sincere and associated with the neighborhood the judge is presiding over. Working more closely together with your legal team increases your likelihood of absolute success. Follow these tips, listen closely to how you're advised and ultimately, you must win your case.
ACTIONPages is your local directory publisher. Serving markets in Arizona, California, Washington, and Canada. ACTIONPages the best local choice for cost-effective advertising.
Some of the cites we server are,
What Is My Accident Injury Claim Worth?
I Was Rear Ended 7 Months Ago In Tennessee By No Fault Of My Own. I Have Facet Syndrome And Schmorl'S Nodes On My Thoracic Spine. I Am Having A Pulsed Radiofrequency Procedure In 2 Weeks On My Neck. I Will Have Over $40000 In Medical Bills Plus I Have Missed 3 Months Of Work Right Now. I Deal With Pain Everyday And I Have To Take Pain Meds On A Regular Basis. Thanks
every injury is decided case by case; the adjuster will review your medical records to verify all injuries are accident related and not pre-existing;
they will take medical bills, reports etc and then make an evaluation and make offer; if they find not all medically necessary/related, can not cover all your bills.
as for your lost wages of 3 months; do you have a doctors excuse stating you are unable to do your job?? just because in pain and you believe cant work, does not count. hopefully you have doctors excuse showing that your injuries preclude you from doing your job.
if you have medical payment coverage on your policy and they have paid the bills would be in your favor, since medical payments only pays if medically necessary or accident related.
my suggestion is call your insurance company for guidance. they most likely will tell you what your injury is worth, but could guide you if the other company may dispute or accept the medical bills/wages etc
Would You Take An Insurance Settlement Without An Attorney?
Okay, My Husband And I Were Driving Down The Highway When A 97 Mazda Truck Hit Our 2010 Honda Odyssey (Which We Only Had For Four Months) At 75Mph. When They Hit Our Fan The Collision Crashed Us Into The Guard Rail Breaking The Axel Of Our Van And Then The Truck Went Flipping Down 95. The Passenger Of That Vehicle Was Not Wearing A Seatbelt And Was Ejected From The Vehicle And Died On Impact. My Husband And I Suffered Severe Whiplash, My Husband Was Out Of Work For A Week, I Stay At Home And Continued To Have Lots Of Swelling In My Neck And Hip But Extremely Minor Compared To The Passenger Of The Other Vehicle. We Found Out That The Driver Of This Vehicle Was Not Insured And Our Insurance Picked Up The Medical Bills And Payed Off Our Van. Now...My Husband And I Went To Get Another Vehicle But Was Given A High Interest Rate Because We Had A Few Issues With Our Credit. Now That We Won'T Accept Paying A Ridiculously High Payment For A New Car We Are At A Loss. Should We Try To Negotiate A Decent Settlement Check For Our Accident From Our Own Insurance Company Or Get An Attorney???? Please No Rude Comments. We Did Not Want To Sue Because We Did Not Want To Inflict Any More Pain On The Family That Lost Their Loved One.
Injury settlements are based on the injury itself.
Having an attorney does not make your claim worth more since it's the injury that determines the value of the claim.
An attorney will take 1/3 of any settlement you get as his fee. That means, to break even, the attorney has to be able to get at least 1/3 more than you could have gotten on your own. That's pretty difficult to do.
Consider this example:
You have 1000 in medical bills.
1. you do not have an attorney. Adjuster offers 2200.00 to settle your claim. Of this 1000 goes to med bills, rest goes to you. So you net 1200. The pie gets divided in 2 (you and medical providers)
2. You have an attorney, adjuster offers 3000. 1000 goes to med bills, 1000 (1/2) goes to attorney as his fee and 1000 goes to you. So even though the offer is actually higher than in example one - you actually net less because the attorney gets his cut. Pie gets divided by 3.
My two cents - if your insurance company has treated you fair so far - no reason not to continue to work with them on the injury claim. You can always hire an attorney later if you don't like how your company is treating you and it's worth it to give 1/3 of your money away to an attorney.
How Free Are Free Consultations With Lawyers.?
I Have An Important Issue To Discuss, But I Am Unemployed. Are There Any Hidden Costs? Can I Get Free Consultation In More Then One Place?
Try your local Legal Aid Society.
How Much Are You Paying Your Divorce Lawyer?
Divorce lawyers vary from state to state and the experience of the lawyer you are hiring. $20,000 is the average cost of a divorce. Therefore, good lawyers will have to cost a minimum of $75 per hour.
How Do I Find A Divorce Decree In Illinois?
I Need To Find My Dad'S Divorce Decree. All I Know Is The Date He Got Married, His Ex'S Name, And That They Got Married In Chicago. He Got Divorced Around 1982-83. He Has Not Had Any Contact With Her Since 81 And He Says She Sought A Divorce, But He Doesn'T Know Where Or What Year Exactly. Please Help!!!!!
The divorce decree/judgment is a public record that should be in the court's divorce file in whatever county your dad was granted his divorce. Hopefully that record has not been destroyed but also may be on microfilm. If he can't recall what county the divorce was in (apart from other concerns) I believe you or your father can get that info from the Illinois Department of Public Health - Vital Records
Are Provoked Assault Charges Dismissed?
Sorry If I Phrased The Question Wrong.
If A Person Is Provoked Into Assaulting Another Person, Will The Charges Most Likely Be Dropped?
I Watched Two Episodes Of Judge Judy On Youtube, Both Cases About Bullies.
In The First One, A Young Boy Assaulted A Young Girl, And The Girl'S Mom Was Suing For Medical Bills. The Defendant Only Had To Pay A Part Of The Bill (Like $300) While The Plaintiff Was Stuck With The $1,000+ Bill. The Reason The Girl Was Assaulted Was Because She Made Fun Of, Teased And Provoked The Boy. Although The Boy'S Action Were Wrong, Judge Judy Confronted The Mother About Her Daughter'S Manipulative Ways.
In The Other Video, (This Is Irrelevant To The Case) But It Was Mentioned That One Of The Guys Was Charged With Assault. He Said That The Charges Were Dropped As Soon As They Found Out The Assault Was Provoked.
My Question Is, If Someone Provokes You To Hit Them, Is It Likely The Charges Put On You Will Be Dropped?
I Honestly Always Thought That It Didn'T Matter How Much Someone Provoked You (E.G. Verbally Trash Talking) You Had No Right To Hit Them Back, Unless They Were Coming At You To Try And Hurt You Physically. I Understand People May Say, If You Trash Talk Someone, And They Hit You. You Deserve It, But I Am Kind Of Always For The Law. So If You Hit That Person Trash Talking You, Sure You May Have Gotten Revenge In The Sense That You Hit Them, But You Would In The End Have To Pay Them For The Bills And Get This On Your Record.
Can Someone Please Clarify? Thank You!
In a criminal case, charges are filed which result in a punishment (things like fines, jail, probation). In a criminal case, the aggressor is always in the wrong. As you said, no matter what someone says to you, you can't hit them.
Legally, "assault" is "an act that creates an apprehension in another of an imminent, harmful, or offensive contact," not the actual contact. (Hitting someone is a charge called "battery.") It is not assault if the other person assaults you first, and you respond in kind.
For example, you are I are arguing. I take some aggressive steps toward you, and you raise a hand. Now, usually, raising a hand is an assault. (I think you'll hit me, which is offensive contact, obviously.) However, in this case, since I advanced first, your assault is not going to be a crime. It's the reaction to being provoked. My assault is the crime, because I was the aggressor. And that's how your charge gets dismissed.
Judge Judy is not a criminal trial, it's civil trial. In a civil trial, money is awarded to those who have lost some as result of someone else's action. That charge is legally called a "tort." (Although lay persons do use the word "charge" for both.) A civil trial has a different legal standards than criminal. In awarding "damages" (the money lost) civil trials find "fault," which is anything that contributed to the damages, and award a percentage of the money relative to the level of fault.
If, for example, I run a red light and hit your car, I'm a hundred percent at fault, so I have to pay all the damages. If, however, we both ran a stop sign and collided, we are each fifty percent at fault, so we both pay our own damages.
In the case of those children, for example, it may be only ten percent that kid's fault for lashing out, and ninety percent the girl's fault for torturing the poor kid to his breaking point. Because if she'd just left him alone, he wouldn't have hit her.
Hope that helps. :)