Yes go to :
www.avvo.com ( a v v o.com)
It depends on what you want and what state you live in. (I think you said Texas in your last question.)
If you wish to not be responsible for the children you can give up your parental rights, but if you wish to remain in the children's lives you can fight for the right to remain their father. Most states consider a man who is married to a mother at the time of birth a legal father. (Having your name on the birth certificate is a big plus.) You will need to show the Court that you have supported these children and acted in the capacity of a father to these children and that you intend to continue to do so and that this is in THE BEST INTERESTS OF THE CHILDREN. Know your rights and speak from your heart.
Good luck to you and especially the children!
Texas Legal Definition of a Father:
Legal Definition of “Father”
Texas Family Code §§ 160.102; 160.204
‘’Adjudicated father’’ means a man who has been adjudicated by a court to be the father of a child.
‘’Presumed father’’ means a man who, by operation of law under § 160.204, is recognized as the father of a child
until that status is rebutted or confirmed in a judicial proceeding.
A man is presumed to be the father of a child if:
He is married to the mother of the child and the child is born during the marriage.
He is married to the child’s mother and the child is born before the 301st day after the date the marriage is terminated.
He married the child’s mother before the birth of the child even if the attempted marriage is or could be declared invalid, and the child is born during the invalid marriage or before the 301st day after the date the marriage is terminated.
He married the child’s mother after the birth of the child, regardless of whether the marriage is or could be declared invalid, he voluntarily asserted his paternity of the child, and: » The assertion is in a record filed with the Bureau of Vital Statistics. » He is voluntarily named as the child’s father on the child’s birth certificate. » He promised in a record to support the child as his own.
During the first 2 years of the child’s life, he continuously resided in the household in which the child resided and he represented to others that the child was his own.
Revocation of Claim to Paternity:
Texas Family Code §§ 160.414; 160.307; 160.308; 160.414
A signatory may rescind an acknowledgment of paternity by commencing a proceeding to rescind before the earlier of:
60 days after the effective date of the acknowledgment
The date of the first hearing in a proceeding to which the signatory is a party before a court to adjudicate an
issue relating to the child, including a proceeding that establishes child support After the period for rescission has expired, a signatory of an acknowledgment of paternity may commence a proceeding to challenge the acknowledgment only on the basis of fraud, duress, or material mistake of fact. The proceeding must be commenced before the fourth anniversary of the date the acknowledgment is filed. A party challenging an acknowledgment of paternity or denial of paternity has the burden of proof.
A registrant [in the putative fathers’ registry] may rescind his registration at any time by sending to the registry a rescission in a record or another manner authenticated by him and witnessed or notarized.