A violation of Veh C 23153 (driving under the influence and causing bodily injury -- it need not be great bodily injury) can be filed as a misdemeanor or a felony. As a felony it has a maximum sentence of three years in prison, as a misdemeanor a maximum sentence of one year in jail. For a first offense, probation is the most likely outcome. Whether prosecuted as a felony or misdemeanor, that will involve at least 5 days in jail, a fine in the area of $1,900, and a one-year license suspension. (Veh C 23554, 23556.) There will also be required restitution to the victim, unless the defendant's insurance company paid for it (and a lot of insurance companies do not cover damages caused by drunk driving). That means that the defendant has to pay even if the victim's insurance company also paid.
--- Colorado Felony Cases ---
----* Felony cases range in seriousness from first-degree through sixth-degree. You'll often hear them referred to as "F5" or "F6," etc. The lower the number, the more serious the offense. For example first-degree murder is an F1, or first-degree felony. For more information about the possible penalties associated with each degree, please visit our sentencing page.
--- *If you are charged with a felony in Colorado, your criminal case will proceed in the following manner:
--- *The Filing of Charges: The defendant is required to appear in court in order to formally receive the charges against him. The judge will also advise the defendant of his rights, set a bond amount in the case, and set the next court appearance. Your defense attorney will argue on your behalf to lower the bond amount that has been set.
This example is for Colorado, but most states are similar. The F1 to F6 is just another way of saying Class A felony thru Class F felony. A class F felony or an F6 is the lower end or least serious type of felony, though you can still go to prison for it.
--- The definition of a felony is a crime that carries a possible prison sentence of more than 1 year.
*see [a] in the source box